Faraimo and Finch

Local Softball Star Wins Gatorade National Player of the Year

Megan Faraimo Softball Gatorade Player of the Year

Braden Surprenant
June 05, 2018 - 5:05 pm

By: Braden Surprenant

Cathedral Catholic senior pitcher Megan Faraimo, has had an exciting couple of weeks. She pitched in the CIF San Diego Open Championship, she graduated high school, and now she became the Gatorade National Player of the Year for softball.

So what exactly does that mean? Well every year for the past twenty years, Gatorade has annually recognized one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girl’s volleyball, boys and girl’s cross country, boys and girl’s basketball, boys and girl’s soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track and field.

Faraimo won the Gatorade Softball Player of the Year for California.

Today, Jennie Finch, yes All-American and Olympic gold medalist Jennie Finch, surprised Megan with the Gatorade Softball National Player of the Year award. Megan was just voted the best high school softball player in the COUNTRY.

A pretty spectacular achievement, especially only one other San Diegan has won it, Lisa Dodd from University City High School in 2003.

Faraimo finished this season with a .23 ERA, with 405 strikeouts and a 26-3 record for Cathedral Catholic. She only allowed 47 hits in her 186.1 innings pitched. Her 405 strikeouts are second most in the CIF San Diego section in a single season.

If that was not impressive enough she threw 5 no hitters and 4 perfect games. One of those perfect games went to extra innings (8), and every batter was retired by strikeout. Let that sink in for a second.

Faraimo is not only just a dominate pitcher, she also produced at the plate. She finished with a .316 batting average with seven home runs, 22 RBI and a .645 slugging percentage. Ranked as the No. 1 recruit in the Class of 2018 by FloSoftball, she finished her high school softball career with 1,028 strikeouts and will be attending UCLA in the fall to continue her softball career.

Just for perspective here are some names of athletes who have also won the Gatorade Player of the Year in their sport. Football; Kyler Murray, Matt Barkley, Peyton Manning and Emmit Smith; baseball; recent Padres draft picks Ryan Weathers and Mackenzie Gore, Lance McCullers, Clayton Kershaw, Justin Upton, Rick Porcello, Alex Rodriguez, and Gary Sheffield; basketball; Jayson Tatum, Ben Simmons, Karl-Anthony Towns, Lebron James (x2), Kobe Bryant and Chris Webber.

The list goes on and on…If you want to see all the Gatorade Player of the Year award winners click here.