AAF Announces San Diego Team Name

San Diego Fleet will call SDCCU Stadium Home

Rich Herrera
September 25, 2018 - 10:19 pm

@AAF-San Diego Fleet


The AAF announced team names for the inaugural 2019 season.  The San Diego entry into the league will be named the San Diego Fleet.  Team colors will be Battleship Grey, Yellow, and Silver Grey according to the San Diego U-T.  The team will be led by head coach Mike Martz and play there games at SDCCU Stadium.  


From the league website 

By Mark Newman

San Diego’s has long been known for its strong and inspiring Naval community. With unmistakable recognition of that, there’s a new pro football team in town, here to honor that historic ongoing connection.

Introducing the San Diego Fleet, one of eight teams in The Alliance of American Football, which begins its debut season in February. The Fleet made the announcement at a news conference on Tuesday, and everywhere you look is a tribute to that rich local heritage.

“San Diego is a football city,” said Charlie Ebersol, co-founder of The Alliance. “It’s deeply ingrained in the culture of the city.”  The tradition of pro football gets a fresh start in San Diego, fitting right in with the region’s majestic, endearing reputation off the field.

The San Diego Fleet has a clear mission: Win, offensively and defensively, with firepower, strength and ingenuity. Fleets sail together, and this team will exude the kind of teamwork that’s made the city it calls home famous.

Naval Base San Diego is a workplace for more than 35,000 personnel and 54 ships.

The Fleet, naturally, sports a Naval-inspired theme. The logo shows appreciation for local shipmen and shipwomen, with a single chevron that pays tribute to hard-working petty officers and to battleships from the Pacific fleet.

The colors and typography are unique to professional athletics, mirroring those of Navy ships and the signature San Diego sunshine and Battleship Gray. The Fleet are going to blend into this community just fine.

Welcome the San Diego Fleet to the pro sports world.


The eight team league will have teams in Orlando, Memphis, Arizona, San Antonio, Salt Lake City, Atlanta, Birmingham as well as San Diego.